Groomsport Parish to offer heritage tours following refurbishmentFriday 02 November 2018
Groomsport Parish Church, which was originally built as a Chapel of Ease, will open for heritage tours following completion of a major refurbishment project.
The church has a wealth of unique features and sits overlooking the sea on the Main Street of the pretty coastal village. When refurbishment is complete the church building will be open every day from 9.00 am to 6.00 pm.
The Chapel of Ease as it was when erected in 1841, was one of sixteen churches built with funds supplied by the Church Accommodation Society, started by Bishop Richard Mant.
The site in Groomsport was a gift from Mr John Waring Maxwell of Finnebrogue, near Downpatrick and the architect was none other than the famous Belfast designer Sir Charles Lanyon. Lanyon designed the then Queen’s College (which later became Queen’s University), and gave his services free to the Society.
As part of the Groomsport Parish Church Refurbishment Project (supported by the Heritage Lottery Fund) the parish is offering free guided tours of the church and environs from 3 December 2018. Tours will be conducted by a trained guide and led by a qualified Blue Badge Tour Guide.
Tours may be provided on request, but require at least 2 weeks notice and confirmation 24 hours beforehand.
For more information and to arrange a tour, please contact Colin Crozier:
Tel: 07772080796, email: email@example.com